Cleveland, OH — August 6, 2011

The winners of the 2011 Cleveland International Piano Competition were announced tonight following the second concerto round with The Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall:

First Prize: Alexander Schimpf (right, 29, Germany)

Second Prize: Alexey Chernov (second from right, 28, Russia)

Third Prize: Eric Zuber (second from left, 26, USA)

Fourth Prize: Kyu Yeon Kim (left, 26, Korea)

The prize ceremony (including the awarding of other prizes and a winners’ recital) will be held on Sunday, August 7 at 3 pm at Severance Hall (live broadcast over WCLV, 104.9 FM).

Our review of the concerto round will be posted here on Sunday afternoon.