Oberlin-Cooper-2014-LogoOberlin – July 23. Following the concerto round last evening, the judges announced the six finalists in the 2014 Cooper International Competition who will advance to the Recital Round on Wednesday evening, July 23 at 7:00 pm in Warner Concert Hall at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music. Following the program, the judges will announce the three contestants who will play concertos with Jahja Ling and The Cleveland Orchestra on Friday evening at Severance Hall. The performance will be carried live on WCLV, 104.9 FM and wclv.com, and a video stream will be available here.

Here is the Recital Finals program for Wednesday evening (performance order to be announced):

SAE YOON CHON, 18, Seoul, South Korea

Haydn Sonata No. 59, Allegro
Dutilleux Choral and variation
Liszt Rhapsodie espagnole, S.254/R.90

MIN JUN LEE, 15, Seoul, South Korea

Mozart Sonata No. 14, K. 457
Chopin Prelude. Op. 45
Liszt Apres une lecture du Dante “Fantasia quasi Sonata”
Prokofiev “Suggestion Diabolique,” Op. 4, No. 4

ZITONG WANG, 15, Inner Mongolia, China

Beethoven Sonata No. 24, Op. 78, Adagio cantabile-Allegro ma non troppo
Brahms Sonata No. 2, Op. 2, Allegro non troppo
Mendelssohn A Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture, Op. 21
Tchaikovsky Theme and variations, Op. 19, No. 6

EVREN OZEL, Minneapolis, USA

Beethoven Sonata No. 24, Op. 78, Adagio cantabile-Allegro ma non troppo, Allegro vivace
Chopin Nocturne Op. 55, No. 2
Chopin Barcarolle, Op. 60
Ravel Gaspard de la nuit, Ondine

GYU TAE HA, 17, Uijeongbu, South Korea

Haydn Sonata No. 47, Hob.SVI:32, Allegro moderato
Liszt Mephisto Waltz No. 1
Chopin Nocturne Op. 27, No. 2
Chopin Polonaise No. 6, Op. 53

TONY YIKE YANG, 15, Toronto, Canada

Beethoven Sonata No. 17, Op. 31, No. 2, Largo-Allegro
Chopin Fantaisie, Op. 49
Liszt Sonetto 104 del Petrarca, S.161/5, No. 5
Prokofiev Sonata No. 7, Op. 83, Andante caloroso, Precipitato